Astral Heats will be featured in BlazBlue: Cross Tag Battle, according to the latest issue of Famitsu

By on April 26, 2018 at 10:00 am
BBTAG-Roster-April-18

The legendary Instant Kills are making a return!

As we continue to catch our breath from the recent reveals of Naoto Shirogane, Vatista, and Hakumen in BlazBlue: Cross Tag Battle’s Cross Character Pack 3, we now have an equally interesting piece of news, courtesy of the latest issue of Famitsu.

Though still fully untranslated, the latest scan about BBTAG reveals a new, yet familiar, system mechanic for the game: Astral Heats. Eagle-eyed fans suspected they might return when we saw Ragna obliterate Yu with Black Onslaught in a recent trailer. Thankfully, GREATFERNMAN has stepped in to provide some clarity on them. He notes that they can only be performed while your character is in Resonance Blaze with 9 bars of Skill Gauge (which can only be obtained during Level 4 Resonance), while your opponent is also down to their last character, making them seem quite situational. You can see the full scan and Tweet below.

BBTAG-Famitsu-Scan-April-18

In addition, we’ve got official stat cards for “The 2,000 IQ Killjoy Detective,” Naoto Shirogane, “The Autonomic Nerve,” Vatista and “The Susano’o Unit,” Hakumen.

Finally, the official Japanese website for BBTAG has just recently updated, indicating that the next Arc Nama stream will be taking place on Friday, May 18 — a mere 13 days before the game is released in Japan. As always, the festivities will be held at 4:00 AM PT (5:00 AM MT, 6:00 AM CT, and 7:00 AM ET) at twitch.tv/arcsystemworks. We could possibly see the reveal of the next three DLC characters in Cross Character Pack 4, but nothing has been officially announced by Arc System Works on that front at the time of publication.

There have also been new screenshots released of Naoto, Vatista, Hakumen and Yang, which shows a portion of her first Distortion Skill for the first time, below.

BlazBlue: Cross Tag Battle will be released for PlayStation 4, Nintendo Switch and Steam in Japan on Thursday, May 31st, with a North American release following on Tuesday, June 5th. A European release for PS4 and Switch is slated for this summer.

Sources: blazblue.jp/tag; TFGBBTAGNEWS (Twitter); GREATFERNMAN (Twitter); Famitsu scan via GameFAQs

Oklahoma-based freelance journalist who enjoys fighting games of all sorts. When he's not grinding out setups, he enjoys watching anime and wrestling.