BlazBlue Cross Tag Battle’s PSX trailer reveals new gameplay changes; next character reveals scheduled for Dec. 15

By on December 12, 2017 at 11:00 am
BBTAG-Character-Portorait-Collage

Amidst all of the insane hype for the newly-announced SoulCalibur VI and Street Fighter V: Arcade Edition over the weekend, one thing that may have slipped under the radar during Sony’s PSX presentation was a new trailer for the upcoming BlazBlue Cross Tag Battle. Though overall it was just an alternate cut of the title’s announcement trailer we saw at Evo 2017, there were multiple notable differences.

Firstly, the cuts of gameplay clips come from the latest build of the game, as we see recently-announced characters like Persona 4 Arena‘s Chie Satonaka and Yukiko Amagi (who has her Fire Break from Ultimax as one of her three Assists), BlazBlue’s Noel Vermillion, Under Night In-Birth‘s Waldstein, and RWBY‘s Weiss Schnee in action, complete with the now-maximum 5 bars of Cross Gauge.

We also see BlazBlue’s Jin Kisaragi unleash a third Distortion Skill, Yukikase, a move he did not have in the earlier Toushinsai build. Though we’ve also seen Chie packing all three of her previous Distortion Skills (God Hand, Agneyastra and Power Charge), it will be interesting to see what input the Counter Distortion will take, as all revealed so far use either double quarter-circle forward or double quarter-circle back motions to be executed. It should be noted that he was called in for a Crash Assault following Hyde’s Gyre Vortex, and only performed the attacking portion of the move, seemingly replacing Hiyoku Getsumei as his pre-determined DHC option. Ruby Rose is briefly spotlighted, comboing into her Petal Burst Distortion Skill on Yosuke Hanamura.

Finally, though the previous English reveal trailer for Gordeau, Yukiko and Azrael left the date of the next reveals ambiguous, Arc System Works has confirmed they’ll be holding their December Arc Nama stream this Friday, December 15th at 5:00 AM CT (3:00 AM PT, 6:00 AM ET; 20:00 JST on Thursday). You can catch the full trailer and tweet below.

Going off of previous teases and established patterns, I’m calling my shot of Tsubaki Yayoi, Kanji Tatsumi, Carmine and possibly either Makoto Nanaya or Blake Belladonna, though Yang Xiao Long may be saved for RTX Sydney the weekend of February 3rd. Let us know whom you’re expecting this round in the comments below. BlazBlue Cross Tag Battle will be released for PlayStation 4, Nintendo Switch and PC sometime in 2018.

Sources: PlayStation; bk2128 (Twitter)

Oklahoma-based freelance journalist who enjoys fighting games of all sorts. When he's not grinding out setups, he enjoys watching anime and wrestling.