Red Bull: Tower of Pride results, featuring Tokido, Daigo Umehara, Nemo, Luffy, and others

By on November 24, 2017 at 12:30 pm

While the United States enjoyed the Thanksgiving holiday yesterday, some of Japan’s top Street Fighter V talent was facing off at Red Bull’s Tower of Pride event in Tokyo. The open entry event took place in three stages: in stage one, challengers faced off in groups for the right to face off against one of eight “gatekeepers” in stage two. The winners of the gatekeeper matches advanced into an eight-player single-elimination bracket in stage three.

The event’s eight gatekeepers included Hx.CYG BST|Daigo Umehara, RB|Bonchan, QanbaDouyu|Xiao Hai, Echo Fox|Tokido, NASR|Big Bird, GGP|Kazunoko, DNG|Tachikawa, and AW|Nemo. Among the challengers to emerge from the Tower of Pride were Capcom Cup qualifiers RB|Luffy, CO|Dogura, CO|GO1 and Gachikun, along with strong Japanese players Machabo, Anman, Vanao, and Mizuha.

During the group stage, each player was given 10 coins to wager against the other players in their groups during their matches. The player with the most coins advanced onto the gatekeeper match. A number of notable players competed in stage one, but failed to move on to the next round, such as Bx3|Phenom, Haitani, DNG|Itabashi Zangief, John Takeuchi, StormKubo, and Reiketsu.

The event was streamed by Red Bull Japan, with Jiyuna providing commentary in English with 2DJazz on his own channel, AnimeIlluminati. You can find the videos with the original Japanese audio here.

Watch Red Bull Tower Of Pride! [English Stream] from ANIMEILLUMINATI on

Match Results

Stage Two – Gatekeeper Matches

  • CO|Dogura (M.Bison, Urien) eliminated Bonchan (Nash) 3-2
  • AW|Nemo (Urien) eliminated CO|Go1 (Menat) 3-1
  • Fox|Tokido (Akuma) eliminated Mizuha (Chun-Li) 3-2
  • NASR|Big Bird (Zeku) eliminated Gachikun (Rashid) 3-0
  • Vanao (Balrog) eliminated by Hx|CYG BST|Daigo (Guile) 3-2
  • GGP|Kazunoko (Cammy) eliminated Anman (Urien) 3-0
  • RB|Luffy (R.Mika) eliminated Tachikawa (Ibuki) 3-1
  • Machabo (Necalli) eliminated Qanba Douyu|Xiao Hai (Cammy) 3-0

Stage Three – Tower of Pride Results

Round One

  • GGP|Kazunoko eliminated Fox|Tokido 3-1
  • CO|Dogura eliminated NASR|Big Bird 3-2
  • Machabo eliminated Vanao 3-1
  • RB|Luffy eliminated AW|Nemo 3-1

Round Two

  • GGP| Kazunoko eliminated CO|Dogura 3-0
  • RB| Luffy eliminated Machabo 3-0


  • GGP| Kazunoko defeated RB| Luffy 3-0

1. GGP|Kazunoko (Cammy)
2. RB|Luffy (R.Mika)
3. CO|Dogura (Urien, M.Bison)
3. Machabo (Necalli)
5. Fox|Tokido (Akuma)
5. NASR|Big Bird (Zeku)
5. Vanao (Balrog)
5. AW|Nemo (Urien)


Sources: Red Bull JapanAnimeIlluminati

Kevin Webb is a player, writer and tournament organizer based in New York. When’s he’s not working on his set play or out at an event, you can catch him streaming on Twitch, tweeting about comics or throwing games of Dota 2.