Last Three Red Bull Kumite 2017 Competitors Announced, Completing Lineup

By on March 6, 2017 at 3:00 pm

Red Bull has announced that Lee “Infiltration” Seon-woo, Daigo Umehara, and Gachikun will join the 2017 Redbull Kumite in Paris on May 28, rounding out the list of competitors for the 16-player Street Fighter V tournament. Infiltration is the returning 2016 champion, while Daigo finished ninth at last year’s event. Gachikun has built a reputation as one of the world’s strongest Rashid players, and recently represented Japan’s Western District at the Red Bull 5G Finals in December.

The list of confirmed players is as follows, returning players are marked with an asterisk (*):

  • Meltdown|Mister Crimson (EU)
  • Rize|Infexious (EU)
  • Red Bull|Luffy* (EU)
  • BX3|Phenom (EU)
  • Echo Fox|Tokido* (JPN)
  • CYG BST|PR Balrog (USA)
  • Razer|Infiltration* (S.KOR)
  • Qanba.Douyu|Xiao Hai (CHN)
  • RB (TWN)
  • Twitch.Hx.CYG BST|Daigo Umehara* (JPN)
  • Red Bull|Bonchan* (JPN)
  • Gachikun (JPN)
  • Alien|Nemo (JPN)

A 256-player open tournament will be held on Day 1 of the Kumite (May 27) to determine the final two qualifiers. Last year FA|BigBird of the United Arab Emirates won the last chance qualifier on his way to a fifth place finish in the main event. Registration for the open qualifier will open on March 12 at CET, 2 p.m. EST, 8 p.m. CET. You can find more information on the 2017 Red Bull Kumite at

Source: Red Bull eSports

Kevin Webb is a player, writer and tournament organizer based in New York. When’s he’s not working on his set play or out at an event, you can catch him streaming on Twitch, tweeting about comics or throwing games of Dota 2.