Rejoice! Street Fighter V’s Alex is Live

By on March 30, 2016 at 9:10 am
sfv-alex-9-750

UPDATE – Alex is now playable in Street Fighter V. For a quick look at what he’s capable of, check out our previous roundups.

One of the biggest complaints from the fighting game community as of late has been the lack of an official trailer for Street Fighter V’s Alex. While we won’t get into the legitimacy of such complaints, everyone should be happy to learn that Capcom has dropped a quick video highlighting the returning character’s launch.

Alex will join the Street Fighter V roster today alongside an early version of the in-game shop. While the game’s equivalent to real-world money, Zenny, won’t be available, players should be able to spend some of the Fight Money they’ve been accruing since launch on things like story mode costumes, colors, and more.

Due to the limited way in which they are opening the shop, Alex will be free to play until Zenny functionality is added to the game. This will apply to any other downloadable characters added to the game before the currency is supported.

While we don’t have a concrete release time, we’re expecting Alex to become playable soon after Street Fighter V servers come back online at 10 AM PDT (1 PM EDT, 5 PM GMT). Stay tuned for more details.

Source: Capcom-Unity