Capcom Drops Details on Street Fighter V’s Story Mode, Final Beta

By on January 25, 2016 at 9:20 am
sfv_story_expansion_-_03-750

While we’ve come to know a fair bit about Street Fighter V thanks to the beta phases, one thing we haven’t heard much about is the game’s story.

In a recent post on Capcom-Unity, associate producer Peter “Combofiend” Rosas explains that there are two main components to Street Fighter V’s story mode. First, each character will have their own storyline that will be told with the help of illustrations by none other than famed Capcom artist Bengus.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Street Fighter V will also have what Capcom is calling a Cinematic Story Expansion, which will be added to the game via free update this June. A series first, this mode will tell an overall narrative, which takes place between Street Fighter IV and Street Fighter III, through rendered cut scenes.

You can catch a brief glimpse of this story in the trailer and screenshots below.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Last, but definitely not least, Capcom will be holding one final beta test, starting on January 30 at 12:01 AM PST (8:01 AM GMT) and ending on January 31 at 7 PM PST (February 1 at 3 AM GMT). This will be open to anyone who participated in previous testing phases as well as those who pre-order before those dates.

Street Fighter V launches on PlayStation 4 and PC on February 16.

Source: Capcom-Unity, tips via NightmareSteam, Tony, and Alain-Christian.

Shoryuken's long time news hound. When not writing for SRK's front page, D3v spends part of his time helping run tournaments in the Philippines, including the country's biggest fighting game event, Manila Cup.