Road to EVO 2012 – Montreal Annual Tournament IX and Northwest Majors 4 This Weekend Road to EVO 2012 – Montreal Annual Tournament IX and Northwest Majors 4 This Weekend
The Road to EVO 2012 tournament season is in full drive. There will be at least one Road to EVO event for the next... Road to EVO 2012 – Montreal Annual Tournament IX and Northwest Majors 4 This Weekend

The Road to EVO 2012 tournament season is in full drive. There will be at least one Road to EVO event for the next four weekends including this one, so don’t miss out. This weekend, the East and West North American coasts will both be seeing action as part of the tournament season with Montreal Annual Tournament IX on the Canada East Coast and Northwest Majors 4 on the US West Coast. Here’s a quick look at the two events.

Montreal Annual Tournament IX (M.A.T IX)

The Road to EVO 2012 again leads us to Canada, this time for Montreal Annual Tournament IX (M.A.T IX). The second of Canada’s two Road to EVO events, the tournament will be held at the Café Foonzo in Montreal, Quebec from Saturday June 2 to Sunday June 3. The official game line-up has the six main EVO games as well as Skullgirls:

  • The King of Fighters XIII
  • Mortal Kombat
  • Skullgirls
  • SoulCalibur V
  • Super Street Fighter IV Arcade Edition Ver.2012
  • Street Fighter X Tekken (doubles)
  • Ultimate Marvel vs. Capcom 3
Team MTLSF

On May 31, MTLSF announced the creation of Team MTLSF, managed by Crankpunk (Pierre Maalouf) and MTLer (Vivek Patel) and partnered with Foonzo. The first players of the new team are Chi-Rithy (Henri Oung) , who won the SSFIV AE Ver.2012 tournament at Toryuken, and Snafoo (Richard Tuok), Canada’s (perhaps North America’s) top Dhalsim player. Both players will be in attendance at M.A.T IX as well as East Coast Throwdown 4 next weekend in New Jersey, June 9-10. As for other players attending the tournament, Dieminion of BROKENTIER, who got second to Chi-Rithy in SSFIV AE at Toryuken, and Wolfkrone of Team MRN will also be among those at M.A.T IX.

Stream & Schedule

M.A.T IX will be streamed by RXS of TorontoTopTiers. Here is a general schedule for the event, native time Eastern Daylight Time (UTC -4):

http://www.twitch.tv/torontotoptiers

Saturday June 2

11:00 AM EDT, 8:00 AM PDT – SoulCalibur V
12:00 PM EDT, 9:00 AM PDT – Street Fighter X Tekken 2v2 Teams
1:00 PM EDT, 10:OO AM PDT – Mortal Kombat
3:00/4:00 PM EDT, 12:00/1:00 PM PDT – Super Street Fighter IV AE Ver.2012
8:00 PM EDT, 5:00 PM PDT – Ultimate Marvel vs. Capcom 3

Sunday June 3

11:00 AM EDT, 8:00 AM PDT – King of Fighters XIII & Skullgirls (Sponsored by Autumn Games & Skullgirls)
1:00 PM EDT, 10:oo AM PDT – SCV Top 3, MK Top 3, SSFIV AE Top 8, UMvC3 Top 8

Northwest Majors 4 (NWM4)

While M.A.T IX will be going down on the North American East Coast, Northwest Majors 4 will be happening on the West at the Highline Community College in Des Moines near Seattle, Washington. This is also a Road to EVO event, and will have the EVO titles plus quite a few more:

  • The King of Fighters XIII
  • Mortal Kombat
  • SoulCalibur V – Sponsored by Namco Bandai Games
  • Super Street Fighter IV Arcade Edition Ver.2012
  • Street Fighter X Tekken 1.00 (singles)
  • Ultimate Marvel vs. Capcom 3
  • High Roller Mystery Event
  • BlazBlue Continuum Shift EXTEND
  • Skullgirls – Sponsored by Autumn Games
  • Super Street Fighter II Turbo – TOURNAMENT OF LEGENDS qualifier
  • Tekken 6 – Sponsored by Namco Bandai Games
  • Virtua Fighter 5: Final Showdown – Sponsored by SEGA
Brackets & Players

Pool brackets for NWM4 are available here:

 http://khaosgaming.challonge.com

Some of the players who will be traveling to the event include John Choi, 801 Strider, iPeru, PR Balrog, coL.CC|Filipino Champ EG|fLoE and EG|Ricky Ortiz (Justin Wong was planning to attend but canceled due to sickness). Washington natives AfroCole, BowflexMike and Buktooth will also be competing.

Streams & Schedule

NWM4 will have three streams, provided by Khaos Gaming and Tech Hit, so you’ll be able to catch nearly all of the tournament games on-stream.

Main Stream – http://www.twitch.tv/teamkhaos Starts at or around 10 AM PDT on Saturday, Sunday
Secondary Stream – http://www.twitch.tv/khaosgaming2 Starts at or around 10 AM PDT on Saturday, Sunday
Third (VF Exclusive) Stream – http://www.twitch.tv/khaosgamingtv Starts at or around 10 AM PDT on Saturday

Here’s a general schedule as well as stream schedule in Pacific Daylight Time (UTC -7):

Saturday June 2

Sunday June 3

Sources: M.A.T IX Website, MTLSFNWM4 Website, Slash